Kuishinbo Elf Chapter 33

Here’s chapter 33 of Kuishinbo Elf. It’s one day late from what I promised, sorry.

Btw the next chapter is Sunday or Monday, I hope.

Please point out any mistakes I’ve made and enjoy this translation that is only better than machine translation.

 

Re-translated as of 6/20/19


Meal 33 Reunion! It’s Red, It’s White, and It’s Spicy!

Street stalls!

I’m back at the street stalls, but…… I’m alone this time (Smug). I’ve received permission from Reyen-san and Thrust-san, so there is no problem! This is because I’m acquainted with all the uncles and aunties that work here. Therefore, if anything happens, they’ll lend me a hand…… probably.  

 

「Ohh!? Kuishinbo! You’re alone today?」

 

「Make sure to not follow any strangers even if they offer you food! !」

 

They’re worrying about me…… they’re good people.

I’ve came today not only to eat, but also to look out for any rare ingredients! Adventurers may sale rare ingredients here wholesale, so surprisingly, I might find something good.

…… However, I have to satisfy my stomach before that! (Hungry)

While wondering “What should I eat”, I wandered around the stalls for a while. My eyes wandered among the delicious-looking dishes, but I encountered a destiny-like reunion in one of the stalls.

 

「Th, this is…… ! !」

 

「Welcome! I’m, managing, a, shop here! !」

 

Although the manager’s stuttering way of talking is weird, what caught my attention was the menu of the shop. It is offering Chinese food that is rarely seen in the Langsten Kingdom!

The dish that my eyes immediately jump to is……Mapo Tofu! It is a dish where the spiciness and heat is unbearable! !

However…… would I be able to eat it in my current state…… ? I’ve already encountered it…… if I don’t eat it now, I’m a failure as a man!

 

「Give me a Ma-po-to-fu! !」

 

「Aight! Please, wait, a, moment!」

 

I waited at the tables that were setup near the stall and looked forward for when the dish is done. After waiting a while, I can hear the sound of minced meat being fried in the wok. *Jyuuo!* This is…… the sound of chili bean paste being added. Eventually, I can hear the sound of the main ingredient, tofu being added, indicating that it is almost finished.

 

「Here, thanks, for, waiting!」

 

The mapo tofu is finally in front of me! The contrasting color of the red chili pepper and white tofu creates an artistic feeling. The green from the garlic leaf is also very beautiful! !

 

「This smell is also unbearable…… Itadakimasu! !」

 

I brought the mapo tofu to my mouth!

It’s spicy! My pores immediately opened and sweat starts pouring out! However…… it is delicious! Other than the spiciness, the umami is also incredible! ! Furthermore, the tofu maintained its cube shape without crumbling from my chopstick. This old man…… isn’t an ordinary person!

 

「Hafuhafu…… Ngungu, gubigubi…… puha~」

(T.N. So… yeah. It is the sound of her blowing on the tofu, drinking water, and finally exhaling. I think)

 

I switched between the mapo tofu and water until I finished eating. Originally…… I would enjoy the spiciness and umani of the mapo to its fullest before washing away the oil that remains in my mouth with beer. I would enjoy every step of it until I finish, but…… right now, a child like me have to make do with water.

 

「It was delicious! Thanks for the meal! !」

 

I gave my thanks towards the manager that made it and the mapo tofu itself. And then, I paid for my food before leaving the stall.

 

「Thanks, come, again!」

 

「I’ll be back!」

 

After promising to come again…… I toured around the stalls with a good mood. Ahh…… next time I’ll have fried rice.

 

◆◆◆

 

After touring the stalls, I returned to the Healer’s Association and changed into my usual working uniform before working. As usual, I am hiding my face with a hood, creating a mysterious atmosphere.

 

「Next please~」

 

Fufu…… I am doing my work seriously, you know? I am! This is for me to earn money! I’ll work hard to eat delicious foods~ ! !

 

「Eltina-sama~ it’s time for the next shift.」

 

「Vivid-nii, it’s already that time?」

 

The time sure flies when I’m working. Maybe it’s because of the season, but today there is a lot of elderly patients that have caught a cold.

“Watch out for your health! It’s a promise with the saintess! !”, will there come a day where I can say things like that? This hood is getting annoying.

After my work is free time,  and like usual, I’m spending it for training.

For tomorrow…… hit it, beat it! !

To wrap it up, I munch on a Peachy-sensei. This is something that I can’t bear! Gehehe…… (Smug).

Tomorrow is training again! I have to make sure to not catch a cold!

…… Well, even if I do catch a cold, I can heal myself with 『Cleanse』.

Just in case, I’m going to bed early so that my body can rest.

 

「Nyaa~」

 

There seems to already be someone there. My blanket is already warm for the body temperature of the stray cat. This gently warmth was enough to invite me into the world of dreams…… ZZZ.

 

◆◆◆

 

Now then, today’s training is…… hyaa, the unbearable Butch Rabi!

……Doesn’t it look like their numbers had already increased? What’s going on here, it’s only been one day! ?

 

「Did another herd move over here?」

 

Seeing the herd of Butch Rabi, Linda showed a bitter smile. Seeing that, Huilitia stood next to Linda and replied “Perhaps.”

 

「Let’s quickly deal with them and have our lunch!」

 

However, to Riot, none of that is his concern. He’s full of eager like usual. To him, the Butch Rabi is nothing more than food that he can eat.

 

「I agree, but …… let’s make sure to not be careless, okay?」

 

Folbert draws his steel sword. His sword of light is too powerful and it would damage the meat of the Butch Rabi.

 

「Keep an eye out for those that head towards El! Let’s go guys!」

 

Following Ganzurok’s signal, our hunt on the Butch Rabi begain.

The students had already understood that the Butch Rabis aren’t a match for them, so today’s ugly rabbit hunt ended early.

 

「It’s nice how the student of this class is excellent~」

 

Stilva-sensei complimented us, but I feel like that statement carries a different nuance.

You can compliment me even more, you know? …… Eh? I wasn’t included! ? Fukyun…… (*Cry*).

Now then, such a conversation happened, but we began our preparation for lunch. The boys learned their roles from yesterday and is diligently doing their odd-jobs. Meanwhile, us girls are beginning the food preparation……

 

「Wha? What is that…… pot? It has a unique shape.」

 

Linda looks at my pot with great interest.

Fufufu…… so you noticed! This is a revolutionary cooking invention, a “Pressure Cooker”! The inventor is …… the reincarnated cheat, Fuuta. He was asked by his wives to make it.

Fuuta appears to be quite the gourmet, so the food and drink industry within the Eltania that he governs is doing quite well. However, to what extent is it? I plan on eventually heading to his territory. I’m looking forward to finding any unexpected dishes.

While thinking about that, I added water to the pressure cooker. I then added the ribs of the Butch Rabi before putting it on the fire. I’ll let it simmer normally first. *Gutsugutsu*. (T.N. Simmering sound)

I mixed some soy sauce and some other seasonings together on a large plate. Next, I take the ribs with skin(important) that was simmering, put it on the plate with the skin facing down and add some star anise on top of the meat. Now…… I only need to steam it till it’s soft and the pork kakuni, actually Butch Rabi Kakuni will be finished. (t.n. This paragraph was a mess to translate. Also, kakuni is braised pork belly.)

Originally, we wouldn’t simmer it first and instead steam it for two straight hours, but as expected, we don’t have the time to steam it for two hours. Therefore, I quickened the process by simmering it first and using a pressure cooker.

I tried taste-testing the finished kakuni. The meat is extremely soft and the melted fat is sticking on my tongue, creating a sensual experience. The seasoning is perfect.

I realized that Butch Rabi’s meat is similar to pork the other day, so I did think it would turn out well, but to think it would be this perfect.

I also made a soup from wild spinach and carrots that were also growing in the area. The carrots were sweet, so I crushed it into small pieces and added it as a secret ingredient. Like this, there will be a subtle sweetness to the soup.

I’ll cut the steamed kakuni into enough pieces for everyone…… Hmm?

 

「Heyy…… doesn’t it seems like kids from other groups are mixed in here?」

 

Before I even realised the people from another party has merged with ours.

 

「Well, last time it smelled really nice so we came.」

 

「Ed-sama wanted to come no matter what…… so it can’t be helped!」

 

「Meat that jiggles is rare, so…… *jiggle*, *jiggle*.」

 

「So Kuishinbo is also good at cooking.」

 

「It…… looks delicious. *Drool*.」

 

「I just followed the flow. However…… El, this looks really nice. If you’re ever opening a shop, count me in! !」

 

Right, the party that joined us was Edward’s party. The figure of them waiting for the food while smiling, reminds me of little chicks. (T.N. Edward is the grandson of the king. Appears in chapter 25)

You guys…… I didn’t make that much! !

In the end, I ended up cooking the portions for Edward and his party.

The kakuni seems to be well received as there are people eating it with bread or wrapping it with a lettuce-like vegetable. The soup was also well received and it was completely finished.

Yep, vegetables are delicious after all! If the raw ingredient is good, even cooking it on the spot would make something delicious! (Trembling Voice)

 

「Well…… El’s cooking is delicious! I don’t get to eat warm food back in the castle after all! !」, said Edward as he happily hold me like a body pillow.

 

Because he is part of the royal family, all the food that he eats have to go through the process of testing for poison before it gets to the dining table. Therefore, the food would become cold and he rarely gets to eat any warm food. It is quite sad, but it is necessary so I stopped feeling sympathy for the situation.

 

「Even though it is simple, it is very delicious. But, don’t you misunderstand! Ed-sama said he wanted to try it, so it can’t be helped…… it can’t be helped!」

 

Sitting on the opposite side of Ed and is rubbing her cheek against mine is the Silver Drill-sama, Clattan. She is a stereotypical “Tsundere” and towards her perfect act of a tsundere, I can only comment with a “Fukyun”. (T.N. Clattan Tron Babal is a noble with silver drills in El’s class. Appears in chapter 25. Keeping her name the same as Konko for consistency sake.)

 

「Haaa…… it feels like my skin is all jiggly now.」

 

Gerroid-kun……  you, from the very beginning was jiggly! I retorted in my own heart. As a slime, he seems to have liked the kakuni a lot and is competing for seconds with Riot. Seeing them like that isn’t a bad feeling.

 

「It is unbelievably delicious. Aahh…… once I’ve tasted a dish made by Kuishinbo, I can’t go back to eating meat that is simply roasted.」

 

It was the Lizardman, Rick Milish that complained. By only wearing armor only on the spots not covered by their scales, they’re able to achieve the defensive power of a heavy armor while utilizing their light weight in a fight, the lizard man is a battle-oriented race and has fighting as their creed. He seems to want to become a knight in the future.

 

「It…… it was delicious! I want to e…… eat it again! !」

 

This fatty is Gurysine Lilyshim Deranks. She is a female orc and is the daughter of an upper-noble. She loves to eat and is always eating something. She is a glutton just like me.

It appears that in the orcs’ country, culinary techniques aren’t developed and most food is just “whole” on the dining table. Therefore, she received a huge impact from the dishes that are properly cooked and is now studying the art of cooking day and night. Her dream for the future is to have her future husband eat her own cooking. It is a very girly dream.

 

「If this kakuni is placed in a sandwich, it’ll sell……

El, if you add mustard to this…… it’ll create a better impact, I think it’ll work?」

 

「Instead of using regular bread, bao…… steamed bun might be better. Kakuni with mustard…… it certainly fits.」

 

Smelling the opportunity to make money, Danan is already thinking of ways to sell the kakuni. As expected of a man that is trying to become a merchant, his way of looking at things is different.

For a while, we had fun chatting with each other.

 

「Break is over~! We’ll be training until we make it back to school~!」

 

We heard Stilva-sensei’s voice. It seems that it is time to return.

“Fuaa~i” I heard the lazy voice of a student with a full stomach. Yep, no matter the world, it is the same! The students!

 

「Clean up and let’s prepare to go back.」

 

Following my voice, everyone began to clean up. Nothing happened as well today, and we safely returned to school. The training was over after each party had their meetings.

 

◆◆◆

 

Fuuui~ I’m tired……

After returning to my room, I felt extremely tired from cooking more food than expected. Cooking is quite an exhausting job. There is also my lack of stamina that comes into play. Fighting Butch Rabi is less tiring.

Right now, at this time, the relationship of cooking > Butch Rabi is established. Butch Rabi may go cry in the corner.

After some light training, I dived into my bed.

 

「Nyaa~」

 

Once the bed starts warming up, the wild kitty also dived into the bed. It seems to be cold outside since the body of the wild kitty felt cool. Normally, I would feel awake from that, but my fatigue caused my drowsiness to win.

I closed my eyes while hugging the wild kitty. By the time it became warm, I’ve fallen into a deep sleep.

Last ChapterToCNext Chapter

13 thoughts on “Kuishinbo Elf Chapter 33

  1. .
        ☆
        /\ Thanks!! Nepu!!!
       /★∴\Merry Christmas!
      (人_人_人) And A
      /∴∵★\Happy Nepu Year!
      (_人_人_人_)   ハ,_,ハ +
      /☆∴∵∴\  ,; ´∀`’;
     (_人★人☆人_), d゙  c ミ *
        ̄凵    u”゙””J

    Like

Leave a comment